top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJasmine

How to navigate the dietary needs of your sensory sensitive child.


When my son was 5 years old, I began looking at food and it's effect on our mind, and body. We were junk food junkies, hitting up to 3 drive thru windows a day and eating fast food or frozen dinners almost every night of the week!


This was when I first began suspecting ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder) and I wanted to

learn everything I could about what I was putting into his body. Like all parents, I wanted to give him the best chances at a long healthy, happy life.


I downloaded an app on my phone and would spend hours in the aisles of the grocery stores analyzing ingredients, trying to learn what was safe, what was making his symptoms worse. It was an all day trip for a few years and I'm here to make the path much easier for you.


Here are the first 2 things I want you to think about, and would love to hear in the comments what your kiddos favorite meals are! Looking forward to helping you discover how to get some health into their favorites!


  1. Plan ahead! I know, I know, this is what everyone says but there is a lot of validity to this statement. I want you to take a moment and think of your child's favorite meals; breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Make a list. Here is an example for my ASD Teen.

Breakfast: Cereal, Dragon Fruit smoothies (yes it must be dragon fruit) Lol, Bagel

with cream cheese.

Lunch: He actually prefers leftovers from dinner the night before, because there is

no work involved. He grabs it cold out of the fridge and eats it.

Dinner: Tomato soup with crispy baked tofu, Enchiladas, Lemon baked tofu with

rice, Mac and Cheese, French toast with sausages.

2. Now I want you to think of ways to make those meals healthier. It took me some time to

get my son off of canned tomato soup and boxed mac/cheese but I finally did it with

trial and error. There are many healthier cereals in the store, then what we grew up on

it just takes time to navigate! Our current favorite brand is Grain Berry. I will be sharing

recipes I have discovered along the way! I will also be sharing our go to cookie recipe

that is a fool proof way for your kids to earn some cash!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page